what i am reading now: Rizal Without the Overcoat

Standard

I love, love, love, love, love ! I think every Filipino should read this book – specially the young filipinos who have no clue who Rizal is. 
I am so in love with Rizal since I was in high school and I am more in love with Rizal than ever!!!  I want to buy and would buy all Ambeth Ocampo’s books.  

And I love, love, love, love, love this great author, Ambeth Ocampo.  Here’s a little info about him from wikipedia:

Ambeth R. Ocampo is a multi-awarded Filipino historian, academic, journalist, and author best known for his writings about Jose Rizal, and for his bi-weekly editorial page column in the Philippine Daily Inquirer, “Looking Back.” He became the chair of the Philippines’ National Historical Institute in 2002 and of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts in 2005.

img_0468

5 responses »

  1. i love that book so much! i love how it shows that Rizal is also human like us, not a god like most people would think. ambeth ocampo writes like he knew Rizal very well, like they were close friends or something. i’m also a Rizal fan.

  2. @ Danica – was out to prove that Rizal is a US sponsored hero. But what he failed to recognize is that even with American support for Rizal’s status as national hero, he would still be the hero in Filipinos heart. He fails to recognize that the hero he had in mind were either still alive at that time or have died in the hands of fellow Filipinos. I never understood what he wanted to prove.

  3. I’ve read it. I adore Sir Ambeth as much as you adore him MV. His approach on his writings makes me more interested on reading all his books as possible. Proud to be a Rizal fan too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

